What We're Reading:

G&B: Apologies to Sting

It's been a blast, folks. The Worlds Most Popular Podcast is signing off. Truth to be told, there's not enough hours in the day for ...

Friday, March 20, 2009

the rub

A good friend sent me this link on my Facebook. Had to share. It's The Rub's History Of Hip Hop online mix. In case you don't know, here's a bit more about The Rub.

The Rub started out as a Brooklyn based classics and hip-hop party in 2002 and since has exploded into a global phenomenon. Over the past year the three members of the crew - DJ Ayres, Cosmo Baker & DJ Eleven have taken their no holds barred approach of mixing and kicked it into overdrive, propelling the 3 DJs into the spotlight and letting the world know what it really takes to rock a party. The Rub has been widely recognized as the best monthly club night in New York City for several years, and since they have taken the show on the road the rest of the world has caught on, as the boys have rocked all over the United States, Canada, Mexico, Argentina, Sweden, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Israel, Bangkok and more.

Ayres, Cosmo and Eleven have been featured on MTV Canada and in magazines such as Spin, Vice, XLR8R, The Wire, Hip-Hop Connection (UK) and URB, where they were named Next 100. In addition to their devastatingly good live performances, the have released at least 50 CDs between the 3 of them in the past few years, several pieces of vinyl, and are all continuing to record and make music to shake the asses of the masses. Let's Rub!

Here's the track listing for their mix for the landmark '93.

1. Souls of Mischief – 93 Til Infinity
2. Cypress Hill – Insane In The Brain
3. Black Moon – Who Got Da Props
4. Lords of the Underground – Chief Rocker
5. Wu-Tang Clan – Protect Ya Neck
6. M.O.P. – How About Some Hardcore
7. Beatnuts – Psycho Dwarf
8. Onyx – Slam
9. Run DMC f. Pete Rock – Down With the King
10. KRS One – Sound of the Police
11. Fat Joe – Flow Joe
12. Masta Ace, Inc – Born to Roll
13. Snoop Doggy Dogg – The Shiznit
14. MC Breed f. Tupac – I Gotta Get Mine
15. De La Soul – Breakadawn
16. A Tribe Called Quest – Award Tour
17. Leaders of the New School – What’s Next + Large Pro Remix
18. Nubian Crackers f. Artifacts – Do You Wanna Hear It
19. Funkmaster Flex – Six Million Ways to Die
20. KRS One – Outta Here
21. Del tha Funkee Homosapien – Catch A Bad One
22. Casual – I Didn’t Mean To
23. Ice Cube – You Know How We Do It
24. Domino – Ghetto Jam
25. The Nonce – Mix Tapes
26. Freestyle Fellowship – Inner City Boundaries
27. Boss – Deeper
28. Tupac – Keep Your Head Up
29. Redman – All Night Long
30. Tragedy aka Intelligent Hoodlum – Grand Groove
31. Wu-Tang Clan – Can It Be All So Simple
32. Jeru tha Damaja – Come Clean
33. Big L – Devil’s Son
34. Ultramagnetic MCs – Two Brothers With Checks
35. Beatnuts – Reign of the Tec
36. KRS One – Hip-Hop vs Rap
37. Tupac ft Digital Underground – I Get Around
38. Snoop Doggy Dogg – Gin and Juice
39. Ice Cube ft Das EFX – Check Yo Self
40. Too Short – Don’t Fight the Intro
41. RBL Posse – Bammer Weed
42. Tha Alkaholiks – Only When I’m Drunk
43. LL Cool J – Pink Cookies in a Plastic Bag
44. Wu-Tang Clan – Method Man
45. Wu-Tang Clan – Wu-Tang Clan Ain’t Nothin to Fuck With
46. De La Soul – Ego Trippin (Part Two)
47. A Tribe Called Quest – Electric Relaxation

Check out the full page of mixes here and get your Rub on.