What We're Reading:

G&B: Apologies to Sting

It's been a blast, folks. The Worlds Most Popular Podcast is signing off. Truth to be told, there's not enough hours in the day for ...

Friday, April 10, 2009

dj spinna...

He began experimenting with turntables at age 11 and is known for combining dance music with hip hop, funk, and soul music. He has remixed artists such as De La Soul, Mary J. Blige, and Stevie Wonder. He also collaborated with Eminem on songs Three Six Five, Watch Deez, 5 Star Generals, before the latter went on to super stardom. His first group Jigmastas was with the MC Kriminul. He is also a member of Polyrhythm Addicts, an underground hip-hop supergroup, consisting of himself, Apani B, Mr. Complex, and Shabaam Sahdeeq. Their album Rhyme Related was released in 1999 and featured a song with Pharaohe Monch. The line-up included Apani B (Fly MC), but she was replaced by Tiye Phoenix when they reformed for the 2007 release Break Glass.They released the Reachin single in 2007, from their album Break Glass..., released on April 24, 2007. He has also worked with New York based live house music band Tortured Soul. He also formed a new age soul collective called the New Radikalz including NY artists Selan & Delouie Avant (lead singer of the Goodfellaz), an extended version of their song Outta Time features on the UK New York artist compilation Soul & The City.


With Polyrhythm Addicts

* Rhyme Related (1999 EP)
* Reachin' (2007 Single)
* Break Glass... (2007 LP)

With Jigmastas

* Grass Roots: Lyrical Fluctuation EP (2000)
* Infectious (2001)


* Jiggy Breaks (1996)
* Heavy Beats, Vol. 1 (1999)
* Bahia Blues (featuring Monet) (2000)
* DJ Song (2000)
* Deep-Rooted (2001)
* New York Times (2002)
* DJ Spinna Presents Beyond Real Experience Volume 2 (2002)
* Rock (Unplugged) Drive (2002)
* Wonder of Stevie (2003)
* Here to There (2003)
* Compositions 2 (2004)
* Compositions 1 (2005)
* Compositions 3 (2005)
* Intergalactic Soul (2006)
* Soul & The City (Various Artists) (2007)
* Dillagence 7" (2008)

With Tortured Soul

* Why Fall In Love (2007)

With Grand Pianoramax

* The Hook (Remixes) - digital single (2008)
* The Hook (Remixes) - 12" vinyl single (2009)